School of Business

rss twitter LinkedIn Facebook YouTube Blogs

About the Leadership Council

The International Institute of Tourism Studies (IITS) and the Masters of Tourism Administration Program sponsor a distinguished Leadership Council made up of leading industry and association executives, police advisors, and government officials. These industry leaders have agreed to provide advice and develop opportunities for the students and faculty of the IITS and MTA.

More than 20 tourism industry leaders comprise the Council that is tasked with providing direction to the Institute and Programs in the creation and dissemination of knowledge of tourism, hospitality, sport, event and meeting management in the U.S. and the world.

Dr. Douglas Frechtling, Professor of Tourism and Hospitality Management said, “Our Leadership Council provides advice essential to keeping our curriculum up to date and best equipping our students for successful careers in destination, sport, event, meeting and hotel management. We also look to these industry leaders for guidance in research, innovation and interaction with our students and alumni.“

The Council is led by Lelei LeLaulu, former President and CEO of Counterpart International, a global development organization that empowers people and communities to implement solutions to social, environmental and economic challenges. Mr. LeLaulu works closely with the Council members and program Faculty to identify opportunities to improve teaching, learning and research for students in the Master of Tourism Administration degree program.

Leadership Council Members:

Lelei LeLaulu (Chair)
Sensible Development Corp.

Dr. Ghassan Aidi
President & CEO
International Hotel and Restaurant Association

Diane Brooks
GW Tourism Alumni Network

Thomas E. Carroll
Carroll Publishing

Roger J. Dow
President & CEO
Travel Industry Association of America (TIA)

David Fuller
Managing Director

Robert Gilbert
President & CEO
Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association
International (HSMAI)

John Graff
Former CEO & President
International Association of Amusment Parks and

Edward H. Hall
Transportation Specialist
Bureau of Indian Affairs

Martha Honey
Executive Director
Center for Ecotourism and Sustainable Development

Amanda Hyndman
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental Hotel

Charles Kao
Chairman & Founder
TravelMole Group and

Aaron Katz
Potomac Hospitality Servcices

Michael Levett
CDL Development Solutions

James Lynn
Vice President Strategic Development AOL

Helen N. Marano
Director, Office of Travel & Tourism Industries
U.S. Department of Commerce

Robert H. McNulty
Partners for Livable Communities

Robert Miller, Esq., CMP
Former President, GW Tourism Alumni Network
President, Travel Advocates

Mark Pearce
Vice President
International Sales and Marketing
Choice Hotels International

Alan Pisarski
Transportation Policy Specialist

Tom Riley
Regional Vice President
Kimpton Hotels and Resorts

Stacy Robinson
NFL Players Association

David Schwab
Vice President

Tim Schneider
Schneider Publishing Company, Inc

Deborah Sexton
President & CEO
Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA)

Bevan Springer
Marketplace Excellence/Caribbean Media Exchange

John O'Sullivan
Vice President/Asset Management
The JBG Companies

Jonathan B. Tourtellot
GeoTourism Editor
National Geographic Society

Margit Weisgal
President & CEO
Trade Show Exhibtitors Association

Ellen Wessel
Former President, & Founder
Moving Comfort

Chris White
Chairman & CEO
Global Events Partners