School of Business

rss twitter LinkedIn Facebook YouTube Blogs

CIO University Certificate

The virtual CIO University is a collaborative effort between the Federal government and educational institutions to develop executives for the top IT jobs in industry and government.

The General Services Administration (GSA) conducted a series of focus groups for each of the major competency areas identified by the federal CIO Council. These “core competencies” were originally developed and adopted by the Federal Chief Information Officers Council in 1977 based upon the Clinger‐Cohen Act of 1996). Over 100 subject area experts from academia, industry and government participated in the professionally facilitated sessions. The product was a set of some 600 learning objectives among the competency areas. The GW Executive MSIST and MSIST programs meet these learning objectives within the curriculum. These programs do not require additional coursework to earn the CIO University Certificate in addition to the Master of Science in Information Systems Technology.

CIO University Representatives

Main Campus, Washington, DC
Graduate Education Center, Arlington

Jesica Mera

Virginia Science and Technology Campus, Ashburn

Karen Cholakis